Search Results
Montgomery County Council
100 Maryland Ave, Rockville, MD 20850

The nine-member Montgomery County Council meets in session every Tuesday and throughout the week in legislativeMore committees focusing on education;  health and human services; management and fiscal policy; planning, housing and economic development, public safety and transportation, infrastructure, energy and environment.

The council comprises five members elected from districts and four elected at large countywide. Council members are elected to four year terms. All nine seats are up for election in the same year.

The council president and vice president are elected by their colleagues and serve one-year terms.

The council meets at the Stella B. Werner Council Office Building, which has hearing rooms on the third and seventh floors and offices for legislative staff.

Johns Hopkins University - Montgomery County Campus
9601 Medical Center Dr, Rockville, MD 20850

Best-known for its flagship campus and world-renowned medical center in Baltimore, Johns Hopkins's campus inMore Montgomery County hosts evening classes for 4,000 graduate students in the Carey Business School, the School of Education, the Whiting School of Engineering and the Zanvyl Kreiger School of Arts and Sciences.

The 215,000-square-foot campus has big plans that include an ultimate expansion to 2.6 million square feet that will put thousands of academics, researchers and entrepreneurs on a single campus.

The campus is part of the Great Seneca Science Corridor Master Plan approved by the Montgomery County Council in 2010. As such, it is a cornerstone of county efforts to build a "Science City" that aims to foster collaborations between higher education, government and industry.

See more »