Montgomery County NAACP Installs New Leaders

Officers and executive committee members will serve two-year terms.

The NAACP's Montgomery County branch installed new officers and executive committee members at a ceremony on Saturday at Mt. Calvary Baptist Church in Rockville.

Montgomery County Circuit Court Associate Judge Sharon V. Burrell administered the oath of office to the  newly-elected officials. Former state Del. Herman L. Taylor, Jr. served as Master of Ceremonies.

The officials will serve two-year terms. The officers are:

  • President Anita Neal Powell.
  • 1st Vice President Jeremiah Floyd.
  • 2nd Vice President Lisa Talley.
  • Secretary Linda Plummer.
  • Assistant Secretary Deborah Martin.
  • Treasurer Larry Shelton.
  • Assistant Treasurer Clive Alexis.

Officials are called "to improve the political, educational, social, and economic status of minority groups; to eliminate racial prejudice; to keep the public aware of the adverse effects of racial discrimination; and to take lawful action to secure its elimination consistent with the efforts of the national organization and in conformity with the Articles of Incorporation of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, its Constitution and Bylaws as directed by the National Board of Directors," according to the branch's website.

Click here for more information about the county NAACP branch, including 2012 election results and how to become a member.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something