News Alert
Police Shoot Man 'Behaving Erratically' in Silver …

Bach: Sleepers Awake!

 ,   Add to calendar
 Rockville  See map


Rosa Lamoreaux, soprano; Matthew Smith, tenor; Kevin Deas, bass; Justine Lamb-Budge, violin; William Neil, harpsichord; David Whiteside, flute; Mark Hill, oboe; Kathy Ceasar-Spall, oboe; Fatma Daglar, oboe; Michael Hall, horn; Mark Wakefield, horn

National Philharmonic Chorale

Piotr Gajewski, conductor 

Bach’s six Brandenburg Concertos are considered masterpieces and among the biggest hits of classical music. Each is written for a different combination of instruments. Concerto No. 1 requires the largest number of performers, with a string ensemble and a group of soloists. Concerto No. 5 features three solo instruments: harpsichord, violin and flute. The final piece, Cantata No. 140 for chorus and orchestra, is the famous Wachet Auf (“Sleepers Awake”), a wedding cantata depicting the uniting of Christ with the human soul. 

Bach       Brandenburg Concerto No. 1

              Brandenburg Concerto No. 5

              Cantata No. 140, Wachet Auf (“Sleepers Awake”) 

A free pre-concert lecture will be offered at 6:45 pm.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »